Skip to main content



Meet our board members

  • John Steele

    John Steele


    John served as an army officer before becoming a professional rugby player and European cup winning coach.

    John Steele was appointed EIS Chair in October 2013, having served as a Chief Executive in private, public, and charitable sports organisations including UK Sport, the Rugby Football Union and the Youth Sport Trust.

    As Chair, he leads the EIS Board in setting the strategic direction and development of the organisation.

  • Vic luck

    Vic Luck

    Senior Non-Executive Director

    Vic represents the EIS on the UK Sport group audit committee and chairs the EIS Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

    He has enjoyed a 50-year high-performance business career, both as a global leader and general manager in PwC, IBM and Ford, and as a leadership consultant to many organisations, large and small, in the commercial world and in public service.

    Latterly he has served as a Board member at the Ministry of Justice, the Chartered Institute of Public Finance & Accountancy, the Rugby Players Association and the Foundation for Leadership through Sport. He also Chaired a group at the RFU driving various initiatives to leave a sustained sporting legacy from the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

  • David Tanner

    Sir David Tanner CBE

    Non-Executive Director

    Sir David Tanner led British Rowing through its richest ever period of success as Performance Director from 1996 to 2018.

    Sir David is a successful leader in International Sport and in Education with wide Board experience as a non-Executive Director. He was the Performance Director for British Rowing for 21 years from 1996 to 2018.

    Under his leadership Great Britain has become the world’s leading Olympic and Paralympic rowing nation, topping the Olympic/Paralympic Games’ medal tables for Rowing since Beijing2008.

    Before the days of Lottery funding for sport, Sir David was a medal-winning Olympic coach which he combined with a successful full-time career in Education, latterly as Headteacher of a large Community Comprehensive School until he took up the PD role in 1996.

    Sir David was appointed OBE (2003), CBE (2009) and in 2013 received a Knighthood from the Queen for Services to the London2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

  • Nigel Walker

    National Director

    Nigel joined the EIS in September 2010 having previously been Head of Change and Internal Communications at BBC Wales.

    A former international athlete and rugby union player, he represented Great Britain as a high hurdler before switching to rugby, earning 17 international caps for Wales. He has also served as a UK Sport board member from 2006-10, was Chair of the Major Events Panel and a member of the Audit Committee.

  • Ken Van

    Ken van Someren

    Non-Executive Director, Science and Technical

    Ken chairs the Science & Ethics Advisory Group. A former international sprint kayaker, Ken has over 20 years’ experience as a practitioner, researcher and leader across higher education, high performance sport and industry.

    Ken held senior positions with the EIS between 2005 and 2013 and has been a technical advisor to many public and private sector organisations. He is a Visiting Professor at two UK Universities and a Fellow of BASES.

  • Matt Rogan

    Matt Rogan

    Non-Executive Director, Information Management

    Matt Rogan has spent his career in the commercial side of sport and entertainment.

    Matt is the Chair of Two Circles, a data-driven sports marketing agency which works with some of the world’s biggest sports organisations. Matt co-founded Two Circles in 2011, and led the company’s growth to become one of the leading agencies in the country, including winning the coveted title of Sport Industry Awards Agency of the Year in 2017.

  • Jamie Skiggs

    Jamie Skiggs

    Director of Finance and Business Operations

    A qualified accountant, Jamie studied Economics and Statistics at Keele University and held operational and finance roles for a national delivery company.

    Subsequently he spent ten years with MAN Truck and Bus (part of the VW group), latterly as Finance Director.

  • Vicky Aggar

    Victoria Aggar

    Non-Executive Director

    Victoria Aggar (nee Hansford) is the Chair of the British Athletes Commission.

    She is a former Paralympic athlete who won 100m gold in athletics at the Wheelchair and Amputee World Games in 2005 before switching her attention to rowing.

    Victoria won world titles in 2006 and 2009 as well as a bronze medal at the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games.

  • Annie Panter

    Non-Executive Director

    Annie is a former athlete who competed in the Beijing and London Olympic Games winning a bronze medal in 2012 with the GB women’s hockey team.

    Since retiring from hockey Annie pursued a career in finance with Goldman Sachs, before recently joining TRM Partners in the commercial sports sector.

    Annie has maintained positions on the UK Sport Mission 2016/2020 Panels, the British Cycling Independent Review and an Executive Board member of the International Hockey Federation (FIH), co-chairing the FIH’s Athletes’ Committee.

  • Chelsea Warr

    Non-Executive Director

    Chelsea joined UK Sport in 2005, and was promoted to Head of Performance Pathways where she led the transformation of the GB High Performance system approach to talent identification and development.

    This led to the discovery of Olympic medallists such as Helen Glover, Tom Daley and Lizzy Yarnold. Chelsea was promoted to Deputy Director of Performance in 2013 and then Director of Performance in October 2016 following her key role in enabling GB’s historic success at the Rio 2016 Olympics and Paralympics.